Major Body Regions:

body regions
  1. Cephalic Region: This refers to the head, which includes the skull (cranial bones) and the face (facial bones). It houses the brain and sensory organs like the eyes, ears, nose, and mouth.

  2. Cervical Region: This pertains to the neck, specifically the area where the cervical vertebrae are located. It connects the head to the trunk and contains vital structures like the esophagus, trachea, and major blood vessels.

  3. Thoracic Region: This encompasses the chest area and contains the thoracic cavity, which houses vital organs such as the heart and lungs. The ribcage (thoracic cage) protects these organs.

  4. Abdominal Region: Below the thoracic cavity, the abdominal region contains abdominal organs like the stomach, liver, intestines, kidneys, and reproductive organs. It's separated from the thorax by the diaphragm.

  5. Pelvic Region: Located at the lower end of the trunk, the pelvic region houses the reproductive organs, urinary bladder, and part of the large intestine. It's formed by the pelvic bones and associated structures.

  6. Upper Limbs:

    • Brachial Region: The upper arm, between the shoulder and elbow.
    • Antebrachial Region: The forearm, between the elbow and wrist.
    • Carpal Region: The wrist area.
    • Digital (Hand): Includes the palm, digits (fingers), and thumb.

  7. Lower Limbs:
    • Gluteal Region: The buttocks.
    • Femoral Region: The thigh, between the hip and knee.
    • Crural Region: The leg, between the knee and ankle.
    • Tarsal Region: The ankle area.
    • Pedal (Foot): Includes the sole, digits (toes), and heel.

  8. Dorsal Region: The back region, which includes the spinal column (vertebral column), associated muscles, and nerves.